The weeklong science festival titled "Precise Energy" for the students of the universities in the under construction Rooppur Nuclear Power Plant has ended with the holding of concluding ceremony at Ishwardi yesterday, February 28, 2020. Main objective of the Olympiad was to create greater interest of students in science education.

The Olympiad was organized by a Russian organization- Energy of the Future in association with Ministry of Science and Technology and Bangladesh Atomic Energy corporation. The program was powered by Russia's state atomic energy corporation-ROSATOM, Its engineering division- Atomstroyexport (ASE) - general contractor of Rooppur NPP and MEPhI- national research nuclear university.
Over 1,600 students from Rajshahi University, Rajshahi University of Science and Technology, Pabna University of Science and Technology and Kushtia Islamic University registered for participation in the primary round of the Olympiad. Out of them 150 students were selected for participation in the final round, where they had to appear at a 3 hours long written examination either in Physics or Mathematics or Chemistry based on their preference.
The concluding ceremony held at restaurant auditorium at Ishwardi was addressed by Engr. Ashraful Islam, Site Director, Rooppur NPP, Nina Dementsova, Head of Communications Department of ASE and Alexander Baybakov, Deputy Director General of Energy of the Future. The ceremony was attended by Feroz Kabir, Additional SP of Ishwardi Circle, Momtaz Mahal, AC Land of Ishwardi, Hamidur Rahman, Principal, Ishwardi Mohila Degree College. Senior officials from all the partner organizations, participants of the final round, local dignitaries and media representatives were also present on the occasion.
Three top participants from each group received certificates, crests and special gift hamper, top five were awarded with certificates and crests while all the participants of the final round received certificates of participation. The name of the champion of each group will be announced at the award ceremony of ‘Bangabandhu Nuclear Olympiad’ to be held in Dhaka. Each of them will receive exclusive award for their outstanding performance.
In the primary round, teachers of the concerned universities evaluated the answer scripts and selected participants for the final round. The final round examinations were conducted and evaluated by a group of teachers from National Research Nuclear University of Russia – MEPhI. They were Aleksei Bogdanov, Associate Professor of Physics, Aleksandr Nakhabov, Deputy- Head, Dept. of Physics and Engineering (MEPhI Obninsk Branch), Elena Sarapultceva, Professor and Doctor of Biology, and Sergey Tyuflin, Senior Lecturer.
Science Olympiad for university students of Rooppur NPP region ends
Science Olympiad for university students of Rooppur NPP region ends